Baryshnikov Arts Center

Cage Cunningham Fund

John Cage and Merce Cunningham’s contributions to contemporary 20th century art and culture transformed the performing arts.

Baryshnikov Arts Center’s (BAC) commitment to artistic innovation aspires to reflect and extend their groundbreaking work.

In January 2014, BAC launched the two-year, $1 million Cage Cunningham Campaign to honor their contributions through creating the Cage Cunningham Fund to award artist fellowships and to name BAC’s Studio 6A The John Cage and Merce Cunningham Studio.

We are pleased to announce that thanks to the inspirational support of over 80 donors, we reached our goal.

The Cage Cunningham Fund directly supports future generations of artists who are continuing Cage and Cunningham’s commitment to artistic innovation. The Cage Cunningham Fund awards $50,000 Cage Cunningham Fellowships annually to an artist reflecting Cage and Cunningham’s commitment to collaboration, experimentation and rigor.

The inaugural 2016-17 Cage Cunningham Fellow is Russian pianist Alexei Lubimov, who applied his $50,000 award to commission five composers at the forefront of music innovation: Anton Batagov, Bryce Dessner, Pavel Karmanov, Julia Wolfe, and Sergei Zagny. The 2017-18 Cage Cunningham Fellow is choreographer Pam Tanowitz, who used the fellowship to develop new interdisciplinary works. In recognition of Cunningham's centennial celebration in 2019 and through a special fundraising effort, the 2018-19 Cage Cunningham Fellowship extends the award to five artists working across disciplines: Filmmaker Charles Atlas, Multimedia Artist Tei Blow, Composer / Musician Phyllis Chen, and Choreographers / Dancers Liz Gerring and Silas Riener.

The John Cage and Merce Cunningham Studio is the first physical space named in Cage and Cunningham’s honor. Naming this space at BAC creates an especially vital tribute in New York City’s cultural landscape—Cage and Cunningham’s home and site of creative exploration for the majority of their careers.

Initial leadership gifts to the campaign were given by BAC Trustee Suzanne Weil and BAC’s Founder and Artistic Director Mikhail Baryshnikov. New and additional funds were raised thanks to the DiMenna Match, generously led by BAC Trustee Diana DiMenna and her husband, Joe DiMenna.  Tremendous leadership support of the Campaign was awarded by the Merce Cunningham Trust.

Cage and Cunningham were fearless artistic leaders. We are honored to be able to carry on the legacy and spirit of their work.

Thank you for helping us lead the Cage Cunningham Campaign to success.

Read the New York Times feature on BAC's launch of the Cage Cunningham Campaign.

Read the press release announcing The DiMenna Match.

Read the New York Times announcement of the Merce Cunningham Trust's leadership gift to the Cage Cunningham Campaign.

Read the New York Times announcement of the inaugural Cage Cunningham Fellow.

Read the press release announcing the second Cage Cunningham Fellow.

Read the New York Times announcement of the second Cage Cunningham Fellow.

Read the press release announcing the third Cage Cunningham Fellows.

Read the New York Times announcement of the third Cage Cunningham Fellows.

Cage Cunningham Campaign Supporters

American Express
Anonymous (4)
David Bailin
Mikhail Baryshnikov and Lisa Rinehart
Robert Bielecki
Carolyn Brown
Nadia Burgard
Arlene Cooper
Frank and Monique Cordasco
Michael Cunningham
Nancy Dalva
Richard and Jennie DeScherer
Janet Dewan
Diana and Joseph DiMenna
Katie Dixon and Richard Fleming
Elizabeth Doud
Ally Duffey
James H. Duffy
Ruth Eisenberg
Judith R. and Alan H. Fishman
Barbara G. Fleischman
Martha J. Fleischman
Sandra Foschi
Catherine Gallant
Carol Giles-Straight
Slavka B. Glaser
Andrew Goffe and Jeff Levin
Agnes Gund
Elaine Halpin
Irving Harris Foundation
Melissa Harris
Brian and Tania Higgins
Huong Hoang
Deirdre Howley
Roger and Joan Hooker
Stephanie Joel
Danny Kaye and Sylvia Fine Kaye Foundation
Colleen Keegan
Maureen Keleher
Susan Kelly
Christopher and Eleanor Lange
Penelope Laughton
Jarrett and Maritess Lilien
The Luce Della Vite Estate in Montalcino, Italy
Kristine Shays Lupi
Myra Malkin
Yael Mandelstam and Ken Tabachnick
Lee Manigault
Bonnie Marranca
Danny Melita and Kristy Santimyer-Melita
Merce Cunningham Trust
Ryan MacGavin
Timothy McClimon and Suzanne Berman
Aidan Mooney
Kirsten Munro
Soo Pak
Steven and Michèle Pesner
Georgiana Pickett
Alla Polotskaia
Judith Ratner-Amack
James E. Robison Foundation
Angelica and Neil Rudenstine
Vesna and Howard Sacks
David Saltonstall
Vernon Scott
Valda Setterfield
Noreen T. Shipman
Allan Sperling and Ferne Goldberg Sperling
Christina Sterner
Lucy Nell Stewart
Keith Stubblefield
Jennifer Tipton
Tuma Family Trust
Nancy Umanoff
Marya Ursin
Jan and Marica Vilcek
In Memory of John L. Voorhees
Prue Wallis
Suzanne Weil
Roger Weisberg and Karen Freedman
David Weller
Lynn Wichern and David Wolfson
Anne Zarrella

All gifts as of January 9, 2018

Photos: James Klosty, Peter Sayers