Baryshnikov Arts Center Resident Artist

Miguel Gutierrez

Miguel Gutierrez will develop a new work inspired by discoveries in neuroscience and paranormal phenomena, continuing his explorations of the wonder of living with an ephemeral body in the beyond. Performers include Michelle Boulé, Hilary Clark, Luke George, K.J. Holmes and Ishmael Houston-Jones, with sound design by Neal Medlyn, lighting by Lenore Doxsee, and visuals and writing by Boru O’Brien O’Connell.

Miguel Gutierrez
Artist Bio

Miguel Gutierrez

Miguel Gutierrez, a dance and music artist based in New York, makes solo and group pieces with a variety of artists under the moniker Miguel Gutierrez and the Powerful People.  His work includes: enter the seen (2002), I succumb (2003), dAMNATION rOAD (2004), Retrospective Exhibitionist and Difficult Bodies (2005), myendlesslove (2006), Everyone (2007), Nothing, No thing (2008), Last Meadow (2009), HEAVENS WHAT HAVE I DONE (2010), I SAY THE WORD, a collaboration with visual artist Jenny Holzer at ICA Boston (2010), and he instigated the performance/protest/meditation freedom of information (2001, 2008 & 2009).

His work has been presented at several festivals and venues nationally and internationally, most recently the American Realness Festival in NY, and the Festival D’Automne in Paris. Others include Antipodes Festival in Brest, France, TBA/PICA in Portland, Oregon, Out There Festival at the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis, and ImPulsTanz in Vienna, Austria.

He has received support from Creative Capital, Jerome Foundation, Rockefeller MAP Fund NYFA, the National Endowment for the Arts and the National Performance Network. In 2010 he received fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Foundation for Contemporary Art, and United States Artists. He is the winner of three New York Dance and Performance (Bessie) awards.

Read More
Show Less