Past Performance
Baryshnikov Arts Center Presents

St. Lawrence String Quartet

Jan 24, 2015

The St. Lawrence String Quartet, comprising Geoff Nuttall and Mark Fewer on violin, Lesley Robertson on viola, and Christopher Costanza on cello, will perform works by Haydn and a N.Y. Premiere by composer Jonathan Berger, written in honor of the world-renowned chamber ensemble’s 25th anniversary.

F.J. Haydn: String Quartet in F minor, Op. 20, No.5
Jonathan Berger: String Quartet No. 6, “Swallow” (2014)
F.J. Haydn: String Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 33, No. 2 “The Joke”

Leadership support for music programming in 2015 provided by the J.C. Flowers Foundation and the Thompson Family Foundation.

St. Lawrence String Quartet
Artist Bio

St. Lawrence String Quartet

Established in 1989, the St. Lawrence String Quartet performs over 120 concerts annually worldwide and calls Stanford University home, where the group is Ensemble in Residence. The quartet’s 2014-15 season includes a three-concert series at the Library of Congress in Washington DC, during which the quartet will play Stradivari instruments from the library’s prized collection. 

In January 2015, SLSQ will premiere a string quartet by John Adams—his third work composed for SLSQ—at Stanford University. The quartet will also perform and give master classes around North America, with visits to Houston, Toronto, Philadelphia, Oberlin, Durham, and many other cities. During the summer season, SLSQ continues its long association with the Spoleto Festival in Charleston, SC.

Read More
Show Less

All photos: Eric Cheng