Past Performance
Baryshnikov Arts Center + Merce Cunningham Trust Present

Merce Cunningham Early Works

Screening of Cunningham Ballett 1958
Live Performances of Changeling + Suite for Two

May 18 + 19, 2016

An evening of film and live performance celebrates Merce Cunningham’s early collaborations that revolutionized art making in the 20th century. Cunningham Ballett 1958 features rare footage of solos and duets danced by Merce Cunningham and Carolyn Brown, with piano music performed by David Tudor and John Cage. Former Cunningham dancer Silas Riener performs the N.Y. Premiere of the reconstructed solo Changeling (1957), and Vanessa Knouse and Benny Olk perform Suite for Two (1958). Pianist Stephen Drury plays the music for these dances, which are both featured in the film. 

All photos: Liza Voll